Family #SOL17

slice-of-life

We had a packed house today.  My sister-in-law and her wife brought their daughter to play with Baby McK.  To be fair, there’s not a lot of “playing” a 17 month old can do with a 7 week old.  But she didn’t mind.  My daughter has not been able to stop talking about her new baby cousin.  She says her name, Kaelyn, more often than any other word some days (even more than Elmo, which is saying a LOT).

My brother-in-law decided to capitalize on the proximity of his sister and niece by coming over too.  My sister came over because I left my phone at a party last night and she was returning it.

My daughter was thrilled.  All of her favorite people in one place.  She popped from loved one to loved one, spending more time with the baby than anyone else.  Tonight, as I put her to bed, she recounted her day, saying, “Night night” to everyone she saw today.

It was a long day and I didn’t get to accomplish anything I wanted to accomplish.  But it was nice to be surrounded by family; I was reminded how lucky we are that we can see each other so regularly.

This post is part of the Slice of Life writing challenge hosted by Two Writing Teachers. You can find out more about the challenge here!
5 Comments

Filed under Baby McK, SOL17

5 responses to “Family #SOL17

  1. How wonderful to have family live so close together! I love having weekends to have that family time too! Thanks for sharing your slice!

  2. Sometimes those impromptu gatherings are the best. It is good for the soul to spend time with your family. Glad you had such a nice day.

  3. A small slice, but so important! FAMILY. Says it all.

  4. Being surrounded by family is the best. Great slice.

  5. Lucky daughter and lucky you. Those relationships are so special – my daughter is still so close to her cousins.

Leave a Reply

