Drawers

My daughter’s drawers are overflowing.  For such a tiny girl, she has an awful lot of stuff.  So today, while she and my husband played, I tackled her clothes.

My goal was to get rid of anything that no longer fit.  She is in 18 month clothes now, and I haven’t gone through her things since before we moved in November.  My mother in law packed a lot of her boxes, so I actually barely knew what was in her drawers at all.

The answer?  A lot.  Clothes as small as 9 months, socks that said 0-3.  I purged and purged, tossing onesie after onesie into a bin.  I tossed all of the bibs she won’t let us put on her anymore, and pajamas that no longer zipped over her little belly.  I got rid of pants that were more like shorts and hats that wouldn’t fit on even the tip of her head.

I was sad as I did it.  I spent some time reminiscing over this outfit or that, remembering my baby as a real baby.  But then my husband brought her up to “visit” me in my work, and she sang her ABCs (or at least a 17 month version of her ABCs).  And I thought about the little girl who was taking the place of the baby.  I’ll miss her as a baby, but I’m excited to watch her grow into a girl.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Drawers

  1. You post brought back memories! I was often sad when my two children outgrew something or changed — when my daughter suddenly no longer sat on my lap in the movies it was both sad and sort of nice. Enjoy your moments with your little girl, there will be many wonderful ones! (My children are 29 and 26 now.)

  2. So sweet! This will be the first of many such clearing-outs, for sure. I might be tempted to save a favorite baby hat? Love the detail of pajamas that no longer zip over her little belly!

  3. Lisa C

    I have this exact thought all the time! I miss my babies, but I am having so much fun with my children. 🙂

Leave a Reply

