Mornings #SOL17

It’s the March Slice of Life Challenge again!  Astute readers may notice that I have not posted on this blog since . . . the last March Slice of Life Challenge.  But I so enjoyed the Slice of Life Challenge last year, so I’m trying again!

slice-of-life

One of my New Years goals (I won’t say resolution) was to use my mornings better.  To get up earlier and alternate between running and working on my dissertation.  But I can count on one hand the number of mornings I have woken up before the very last minute necessary.

Still, I know that I need to use my mornings better.  I’m in a new position this year, and it demands a lot more hours at school than my life as a classroom teacher did.  I don’t usually get home before 5:00.  I have a beautiful 16 month old daughter (17 months tomorrow!); when I come home from work, while my daughter is still awake, I do not do work or anything but be present with her. She takes my hand the moment I walk in the door, sometimes before I can even take my heels off!  We walk her toy dog and go on fake picnics and color (purple and blue are her favorites, but I think that’s because those are the colors she can say), but I do not run and I do not work on my dissertation.  This was a promise I made myself when I finished my maternity leave and I’ve stuck to it so far; I only have a few hours of uninterrupted time a day with her, so I don’t waste them.  My daughter is usually asleep by 8:00.  I try my hardest to have dinner with her, but sometimes that just doesn’t happen.  Exhaustion hits some time between 10 and 10:30.  So I really only have a few hours to myself if I’m not using my mornings well.

This morning I was so sure I was going to get some “me time.”  I woke up early after falling asleep on the couch at 9:00 (it’s been a long week already!), and I was excited to get my workout clothes on for the first morning almost all year.  It wasn’t as early as I wanted to get up (I may have hit the snooze button a few times) but it was early enough to get a few miles in.  That’s when I heard it.  Not crying; she almost never cries in the morning.  The sweet babble of my girl talking to Cookie Monster in her crib.  I was torn: go get her and enjoy some morning snuggles before I had to start getting ready for work or head down to the treadmill.

In the end I chose the snuggles.  I’m going to be able to run for the rest of my life (hopefully!).  I know I don’t have many more mornings of snuggles and Sesame Street, so this morning I chose to indulge in them while I can.

This post is part of the Slice of Life writing challenge hosted by Two Writing Teachers.  You can find out more about the challenge here!

4 Comments

Filed under Baby McK, running, SOL17

4 responses to “Mornings #SOL17

  1. I would choose snuggles of my child (or husband) over ANYTHING in the early morning hours. The years go so fast and you don’t get them back. And, precious snuggles are the honey in life. Just jot a few words on those mornings or snap a photo of that lovely child to share and call it a post. You are a wise, wise momma. 🙂

  2. I love the image of your daughter babbling at cookie monster. I remember one morning when both of my kids were toddlers, hearing a baby gurgling over the monitor on my bedside table. It wasn’t either of my children, but I laid there listening in and remembering when it was my little one on the other end babbling away as the cobwebs of sleep left my mind. What a sweet memory!

  3. I can so relate to this–I’m also balancing school, classes, dissertation and being a mommy, and it’s anything but easy sometimes. I, too, always choose the snuggles (and the snooze button!), and there’s never been a time that it wasn’t worth it!

  4. Michelle O'Leary-Strezo

    Snuggles will everyday even at 9 and 11 years old. It is so hard to balance between work and our children… that’s why snuggles always win.

Leave a Reply

