Admiration

Today I came home from school, packed up the baby, and took her to a local cafe to meet my husband.  My husband is also a teacher, and a coach, and he often works late hours.  Because of his coaching obligations (soccer in the fall, basketball in the winter, baseball in the summer), he has little time to spend with students after school.  Rather than say, “Sorry, kid.  You’re out of luck,” my husband spend his precious free time meeting students at the library, at the bookstore, at cafes to try to help them with their work.  With organizing themselves.  With getting themselves back on track.  He does this even though he’s already put in an almost 12 hour day.  He does this even though he’d rather be home with the baby and me.

So today we met him at the cafe.  We played while he helped a student.  When she worked on her own, he came over and sat with our girl, who lit up like a Christmas tree at the sight of him.  It’s easy to complain about how busy I am, to say I don’t have enough time in the day to do all of the things I need to do.  But then I look at my husband, and I admire him so much for all that he’s able to accomplish.  He is a thoughtful coach, a loving husband, an adoring father.  And he still manages to be an amazing teacher who makes time for his students.  I’m thankful to have such an amazing partner, I’m thankful my daughter has such an amazing father, and I’m thankful my students have such an amazing teacher.

7 Comments

Filed under Memoir, School, SOL16, teaching, Uncategorized

7 responses to “Admiration

  1. Holly

    Wow! And I thought I was busy! So glad you are making it work and taking the opportunity to have time together! Go Team!

  2. Your admiration for your husband came through loud and clear! What a guy!! You and his students are very blessed!!

  3. What a dedicated teacher! He is one who his students will remember for years. What a great idea to meet him with the baby!

  4. b

    Beautiful sentiments. I can see you all at Starbucks for a little after-school family date. 🙂 Lucky girl!

  5. Beautiful post about an excellent teacher! Glad you’ve figured out a way to make it all work! ❤

  6. Love this! Your husband definitely goes above and beyond the call of duty! Kudos to him!

  7. Sounds like you both make it work. He could not do all that he does without your support. I am glad you and your daughter got to catch up with him. A two teacher family is quite busy!

Leave a Reply

