Spring Break

We start Spring Break on Friday.  I have only been back to work for two months, so I don’t feel the all-consuming need to run out of my classroom as soon as that last bell rings.  I’m just getting into a groove with my students, and I’m actually a little annoyed that I’ll be losing them for a week (which really means at least a week and a half between students taking off and checking out).  There are other ways I’m approaching Spring Break differently this year, too.

I usually use Spring Break as my week to do a million things.  I grade; I plan; I take measure of the year so far.  I’m usually a busy bee during Spring Break, spending at least one full day at Barnes and Noble or the library. In fact, the week before Break is usually my easiest because I know I’m saving everything for my time off.

This year, however, I’m trying to get as much as possible accomplished before Friday.  I want to spend time with my girl, and I don’t want grading or planning or emailing hanging over my head.  I want to relish our daytime together, going on walks, the zoo, the park.  I want to just relax and spend time with her.

I’m also hoping to get some work done on my dissertation, which I’ve let languish for the better part of a year.  I have a meeting on Saturday that I’m hoping will energize me and focus me with a plan of attack.  I’m hoping to finish it in the next six to ten months, so I need to get moving.

All of this to say that this week I’ll be working my butt off trying to get ready to do nothing.  I think it will be worth it.

3 Comments

Filed under School, SOL16, teaching, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Spring Break

  1. I’m just returning from spring break today. The day was brutal. I was tired and the kids were talkative. I’m hoping to be able to take a quick nap when I get home. Hope you get to enjoy time with your girl!!

  2. I’m on spring break now. I hope you will enjoy your week just hanging out and not worry about what you maybe didn’t finish this week. It will be worth it!

  3. Sounds like the perfect plan for you. It si hard to believe that we are at that point in the school year! Enjoy your days with your little girl.

Leave a Reply

