Family Dinner

I am about to leave for a birthday dinner.  My daughter is asleep and my husband and I are traveling to Staten Island to have dinner with my parents, sister, and grandmother; we are celebrating my parents’ birthdays.

My parents were born 14 days apart and are turning 60 this year.  It is hard for me to imagine my parents at 60 because they are so vibrant, so jovial, so in love with life.  They don’t seem 60.  They seem more like peers.

I like going to dinner with my family.  We are going to a restaurant but no matter where we are there is something so comfortable, so warm, so familiar about it.  I know what they will order.  I know what they will drink.  I know what jokes they will make.  I am looking forward to it.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Family Dinner

  1. There is nothing better than family dinners. My siblings and spouses/significant others are trying to make a ritual of going out to dinner four times a year. It is hard to find a date that will work for all eight of us, but it is well worth it! My husband is going to be 60, but when I look at him I still see the 17-year-old I met when I was 15!

  2. The last of our post made the dinner sound so familiar and cozy! We had a year one birthday party today with family! It’s wonderful when family gets together!

  3. Nothing like family! Glad you are having a night out!

  4. I hope you had a wonderful family dinner. I was envious of you traveling to Staten Island – I’m from Connecticut and I love NYC, but rarely get to travel back.

Leave a Reply

