It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? (Week 2)

I’ve always loved reading the “It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?” posts hosted over at Unleashing Readers and Teach Mentor Texts, but this is only my second week participating in it.  I have to say, it has made me a more thoughtful reader–thinking about what I’m reading each week and why.  

One of my reading goals this year is to be reading a professional text, a YA book, and an adult book pretty much at all times.  Not necessarily that I have to finish one a week (because I know when I get back to grad school that just won’t be possible), but that I’m expanding my reading beyond just whatever book is closest.

This week I finished…

Image

Thank you, Penny Kittle, for revitalizing my writing workshop!

Write Beside Them by Penny Kittle

I posted about that one here, but I cannot recommend it enough for anyone who teaches writing, particularly high school writing.  Kittle’s advice was realistic and I could implement it immediately.  Like the best education books, it felt like Kittle was preaching to the choir sometimes.  It reminded me about how I already felt about writing at a time when I’d really lost my way in one of my classes.  I was really glad I reread it.

Image

Reading a book about characters named Tim Macbeth and Duncan just as I finished teaching Macbeth?! What great timing!

The Tragedy Paper by Elizabeth Laban

I had my eye on this book for months in Barnes and Noble, and I picked it up when I got some gift cards for Christmas.  I’m going to write a full post on this for tomorrow, but I really liked The Tragedy Paper.  It was thought-provoking and complicated in an unexpected way.  I have been thinking about likeable versus unlikeable characters lately, and The Tragedy Paper gave me even more to think about!

This Week I’m Reading…

A Book About Teaching:

Image

I ordered this weeks ago and it finally came. I’ve already reinvigorated writing, here comes reading!

A Young Adult Novel:

Image

This one has been on my nightstand for a while! Excited to sink into it!

 

An Adult Novel (I hesitate to always say novel because sometimes I’ll be reading non-fiction, but an adult book sounds…well…):

Image

Loved Gone Girl, so I’m excited to read this one for Book Club!

 

Also on my nightstand:

Image

S. is going to take me forever, so it’s not really the “adult” book I’m reading, it’s the crazy book I’m reading (and really enjoying!).

Image

I’m rereading this one because I’m teaching it next month. I’m really enjoying the reread and thinking about how I’ll approach it with students (Whole Novel Approach? Perhaps!).

 

I’m Listening to:

Image

I’m going to be finished with this one by the end of the day today. I’m LOVING it! I’m not sure I’ll be able to wait for the third one!

Whew!  That’s a lot of books!  Last week I said I was rereading The Aeneid, and I did read pieces of it, but I don’t need to read the whole thing right now, so I’m concentrating on short stuff for my dissertation for now.  It makes me feel more accomplished!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? (Week 2)

  1. Can’t wait to hear what you think about More Than This. I finished it on Saturday, and I’m still trying to process.

Leave a Reply

