It’s Monday! What are you reading?

I’ve never participated in this post before, hosted by Sheila over on Book Journey, but I love reading those posts.  There’s something really fun about seeing what other people are reading/have read.  It always inspires me to read more!

While I certainly haven’t read as many books as a lot of the other posters, I’m happy with my reading this week!  I’m progressing nicely towards my goal of 65 books this year.

This week I read:

imgres

The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson
Johnson’s tale of ghosts and Jack the Ripper had me completely engrossed!

 

In the Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson

I’d been reading this for a few weeks on and off during Independent Reading.  It was my go to book when I left the book I was really reading at home.  But once Rory met the strange man on the night of the “final” murder, I couldn’t put the book down.  I read through my prep, lunch, and for an hour after school until I finished.  I loved the suspense and the way the supernatural became part of the story.  I had to stop myself from getting the sequel so I could get some work done!  Can’t wait to keep going with this series.

I also read

imgres

The Girl You Left Behind, by JoJo Moyes
A fun historical fiction romance
(Is there a better genre in the world?)

 

The Girl You Left Behind by JoJo Moyes

I listened Moyes’s other book Me Before You this summer and I really enjoyed it.  I saw The Girl You Left Behind in a local bookstore and picked it up, expecting a fun light read.  It sat neglected on my night table until my sister (who shares a Nook account with me) texted to say she’d bought Moyes’s historical fiction novel for $2.99.  While chaperoning a field trip this weekend, I decided to test out the light on my new Nook GlowLight while my colleague slept.  I started reading the engrossing storis of Sophie, who has to thwart the advances of a German officer in France during WWI and Liv a newly widowed woman in the not so distant past, trying to find love and life.  OK, it was cheesey.  And it was light.  But it was a great, engrossing read.  I enjoyed the characters and Moyes’s prose moves quickly.  It’s not beautifully written (I don’t think I highlighted anything, a rarity for me), but the story was so engrossing I was willing to over look any flaws in style.

 

This week, I’m trying to do a little more reading for my dissertation (which doesn’t officially start until the Fall), some professional reading, and some reading for myself.  On my nightstand this week are:

The Tragedy Paper by Elizabeth Laban I've had my eye on this one for quite a while.  I'm excited to start!

The Tragedy Paper
by Elizabeth Laban
I’ve had my eye on this one for quite a while. I’m excited to start!

Write Beside Them by Penny Kittle This one is a reread, but I need some writing inspiration!

Write Beside Them by Penny Kittle
This one is a reread, but I need some writing inspiration!

The Aeneid by Virgil (translated by Robert Fagles) This one is a dissertation read.  I've read The Aeneid a thousand times before, but never this translation.

The Aeneid by Virgil (translated by Robert Fagles)
This one is a dissertation read. I’ve read The Aeneid a thousand times before, but never this translation.

S. by JJ Abrams I don't know much about this book except that everyone is talking about it and I'm in a book club that's talking about the first section on Friday!

S. by JJ Abrams
I don’t know much about this book except that everyone is talking about it and I’m in a book club that’s talking about the first section on Friday!

 

What are you reading this week?

 

1 Comment

Filed under Books, Uncategorized

One response to “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. I am glad you joined in – really great reads you have going here!

Leave a Reply

